How To Delete Ancestry Account?
If you are willing to delete your Ancestry Account from your device, then you are at the right place. Here, you will find the simple steps for deleting the Ancestry account from your device. So, move ahead and in case of any trouble, you are free to reach the experts right away for quick guidelines related to your Ancestry account.
Important Points Before you delete your Ancestry.com Account
Before moving directly to the steps, let us see the things that we should keep in mind before deleting our Ancestry.com account.
Before closing your account
- You should download the copies of your family trees or just, or you need to move ahead to another account. Along with that, you should try to download individual records that you need to keep. You should know that the trees themselves get transferred only but all the photos, files as well as stories will be lost from there.
- Along with that, you should also try to download a copy of your raw DNA data from your respective account. Also, if you need to create a new account then also, you will be not able to use the copy for viewing your test results. You should also take a new DNA test so that you can get the new results.
Remove yourself from a paid Ancestry membership
If you are removing yourself from a paid Ancestry membership then in such case, you will be unable to:
- View the records from paid databases either on your own or via your family trees.
- View the records for existing hints on your respective family trees. Also, you will not be able to attach the new hints to your respective family trees.
- Use some existing features of Ancestry DNA.
- Send private messages to any users other than responses or messages to DNA matches.
If you outright delete an Ancestry account
- All the records of personal data that you have put on the Ancestry profile will be instantly removed.
- You will instantly lose all the remaining abilities from the guest membership till you sign up for a new account.
- Your family trees will be erased which will consist of photos, files, and stories that you have already attached to them. Also, the media attached to your respective trees that you have copied by other users will be there on the website.
- All the things that have been shared by others on your family trees will no longer exist.
- All the DNA test results will be removed along with the genetic samples.
- No one will be able to find as well as view the DNA results.
- Your consent will be withdrawn instantly for any further use of DNA data in the Ancestry Human Diversity Project.
Steps for How To Delete An Ancestry Account
Below we have given some steps for ancestry account delete. Follow the given steps.
- First, Go to ancestry.com/secure/account/delete and sign in to your ancestry account with your email and password.
- After that, you can easily start removing your respective account from Ancestry simply by following its step.
- You have to then verify the password of your account. For that, you need to make sure the name, as well as the email address mentioned at the top of the window, are right.
- After that, you need to go to the password option and then you need to write down the password there. You have to then go to the continue option for the verification.
- It will display the list of subscriptions that will be deleted from your account. Check the box.
- It will list the tree(s) that will be deleted from your account. Check the box.
- Then it will confirm that your DNA testing results will be deleted. Check the boxes and then click. ‘Next step’.
- In the pop-up box, click ‘Next step’. This will be consenting to the deletion of your account. You will not be able to access your account or undo the deletion after this. All of your personal data will be deleted within 30 days (Note: Do not close the box, as you will need to enter a verification code from your email.)
- Open your email in a new tab, where you will find an email with a verification code. It is best to continue with the process right away as the code expires after eight hours. Copy the code.
- Paste the code into the verification box and click ‘Delete account’.
- You will then receive a final email confirming the deletion of your account.
Disposing of Your Saliva Sample
- Call Ancestry’s corporate headquarter.
- Press 1 for assistance with your account. Next, you have to press 3 for product support and press 1 for Ancestry DNA kits. This should quickly get you to a person.
- And then inform the person that you want your DNA sample disposed of. They will ask for the email associated with your account, and maybe for the activation code that you had used when taking the saliva sample.
- They will then contact the lab to have your sample disposed of. You can ask to be notify once it is destroyed
- We would recommend doing this before deleting your account to make sure that they still know which DNA sample is connected to your account.
- Then you have to ask for a follow-up confirmation.
In this blog post, you learned how to Delete Ancestry Account step by step guide. For Further Assistance, you can call us at +1-800-566-7300. You can also connect with us via genealogist live chat support. It is our free tech support service.